Select Page

K-Way VOB Sparrows – Sunday LSD runners

 

Planner

Day Date Time LSD Other Events
Saturday Jan 5
Sunday Jan 6 6:30 Ladies Mile
Saturday Jan 12
Sunday Jan 13 6:30 Mouille Point Bay to Bay
Saturday Jan 19 Hohenort
Sunday Jan 20 6:30 Tokai
Saturday Jan 26 Red Hill
Sunday Jan 27 6:30 Fruit and Veg
Saturday Feb 2 Firgrove
Sunday Feb 3 6:30 Tafelberg road
Saturday Feb 9
Sunday Feb 10 6:30 UCT Zoo Parking Lot
Saturday Feb 16
Sunday Feb 17 6:30 Ladies Mile – Main road Peninsula
Saturday Feb 23 Cango Marathon
Sunday Feb 24 6:30 Fish Hoek Beach
Saturday Mar 2
Sunday Mar 3 6:30 Lion’s Circuit Milkwood
Saturday Mar 9 CV 15
Sunday Mar 10 6:30 Ladies Mile Cycle Tour
Saturday Mar 16
Sunday Mar 17 6:30 Kalk Bay Tygerberg 30
Saturday Mar 23 Weskus
Sunday Mar 24 5:00 Three Dogs
Saturday Mar 30
Sunday Mar 31 6:30 Tokai Slave Route
Saturday Apr 6
Sunday Apr 7 5:00 Noordhoek – UCT +/- 28km
Saturday Apr 13
Sunday Apr 14 7:00 Mouille Point Spar Womans
Saturday Apr 20 Two Oceans
Sunday Apr 21 7:00 No run
Saturday Apr 27
Sunday Apr 28 7:00 Fruit and Veg
Saturday May 4 Outeniqua
Sunday May 5 7:00 Noordhoek
Saturday May 11
Sunday May 12 7:00 Apostles – Gardens
Saturday May 18
Sunday May 19 7:00 UCT Zoo Parking Lot Onerun
Saturday May 25
Sunday May 26 7:00 Lion’s Circuit
Saturday Jun 1
Sunday Jun 2 7:00 Kalk Bay
Saturday Jun 8
Sunday Jun 9 7:00 VOB Clubhouse Comrades (Breakfast)
Saturday Jun 15
Sunday Jun 16 7:00 No run Table Mountain 16km
Saturday Jun 22
Sunday Jun 23 7:00 Mouille Point
Saturday Jun 29 Knysna
Sunday Jun 30 7:00 Fish Hoek Beach
Saturday Jul 6
Sunday Jul 7 7:00 Hout Bay Harbour
Saturday Jul 13
Sunday Jul 14 7:00 Tafelberg road
Saturday Jul 20
Sunday Jul 21 7:30 Tokai CT Festival 21
Saturday Jul 27
Sunday Jul 28 7:30 Apostles – Gardens
Saturday Aug 3
Sunday Aug 4 7:30 Ladies Mile
Saturday Aug 10
Sunday Aug 11 7:30
Saturday Aug 17
Sunday Aug 18 7:30
Saturday Aug 24
Sunday Aug 25 7:30
Saturday Aug 31
Sunday Sep 1 7:30
Saturday Sep 7
Sunday Sep 8 7:00
Saturday Sep 14
Sunday Sep 15 7:00
Saturday Sep 21
Sunday Sep 22 7:00
Saturday Sep 28
Sunday Sep 29 7:00
Saturday Oct 5
Sunday Oct 6 7:00
Saturday Oct 12
Sunday Oct 13 6:30
Saturday Oct 19
Sunday Oct 20 6:30
Saturday Oct 26
Sunday Oct 27 6:30
Saturday Nov 2
Sunday Nov 3 6:30
Saturday Nov 9
Sunday Nov 10 6:30
Saturday Nov 16
Sunday Nov 17 6:30
Saturday Nov 23
Sunday Nov 24 6:30
Saturday Nov 30
Sunday Dec 1 6:30
Saturday Dec 7
Sunday Dec 8 6:30
Saturday Dec 14
Sunday Dec 15 6:30
Saturday Dec 21
Sunday Dec 22 6:30
Thu Dec 26 6:30 Kloof Nek to the dams on TM
Saturday Dec 28
Sunday Dec 29 5:30 Club Chairmans Run
Saturday Jan 4
Sunday Jan 5 6:30
Saturday Jan 11
Sunday Jan 12 6:30
Saturday Jan 18
Sunday Jan 19 6:30

 

The Routes

1 Kommetjie – Scarborough:

  • Location: Shell garage, Kirsten avenue
  • Water: Seconding is required
  • GPS:  -34.140558,18.329224 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 22km (with an optional extra 6km: turn at point C)
  • Route:

2 Tokai – Kalk Bay:

  • Location: Tokai, cnr Tokai and Dalmore roads
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.06201,18.435262 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 22km
  • Route: Tokai, Pollsmoor, Westlake golf course, Kalk bay and back

3 Noordhoek – Hout Bay:

  • Location: Noordhoek farm village (Parking lot off Village lane).
  • Water: We drink from the rivers en-route
  • GPS: -34.096858,18.37664 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 20km
  • Approximate route:

 

4 Noordhoek – Sun Valley:
  • Location: Noordhoek farm village (Parking lot off Village lane).
  • Water: Seconding required
  • GPS: -34.096858,18.37664 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 19km
  • Approximate route:

5 Bergvliet – Kirstenbosch:

  • Location: Spur car park, Ladies mile, Bergvliet.
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.048508,18.454403 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 19km
  • Approximate route:

6 Camps Bay – Suikerbossie:

  • Location: Opposite Camps Bay Police Station
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • Distance: 18km
  • Route: Suikerbossie and back

7 Kalk Bay – Simonstown:

  • Location: Main Road, Kalk Bay. From Kalk Bay station.
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.124524,18.45175 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 25km (or less if you want)
  • Route: Kalk Bay to Simons Town Golf club and back (just past Boulders). On the way back, we run along Fish Hoek beech if its low tide.

8 Tafelberg road – Signal Hill:

  • Location: Tafelberg road. Meet at the Kloof Nek car-park.
  • Water: Taps en-route.
  • GPS: -33.942995, 18.395618 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 19km
  • Route: Depart from Kloof Nek, run past the cable station to the end of the tar, then we retrace our steps, and go all the way to Signal Hill. We then return to the start at Kloof Nek.

9 The ‘Three Dogs’ – Chappies, Constantia Nek, Ou Kaapse Weg:
  • Location: Noordhoek Farm Village
  • Water: Seconding is required
  • GPS: -34.096824,18.377295 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 41km (with an optional extra 4km)
  • Route:

10 Mouille point – V&A – Camps Bay:
  • Location: At the Light House, Beach Road Mouille Point
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -33.901704,18.399621 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 22km
  • Route:

11 Zoo Parking Lot:

  • Location: The parking lot facing the exit from UCT, 500m closer to UCT from where we used to park. This new meeting place is opposite the security hut at the booms at the South Exit from UCT. It’s right next to where we used to park – just closer to UCT (and much bigger and hopefully safer). Don’t take the Rhodes Memorial exit from the M3, but rather the ‘UCT’ exit. (Assuming you’re coming from Constantia side, this is the exit after the Rhodes Memorial turn-off.)
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -33.961061,18.459785 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 20km
  • Route:

 

12 Suikerbossie – Camps Bay:
  • Location: Parking lot at the entrance of Ruyterplaats Estate Near Suikerbossie Restaurant
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.0124,18.351105 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 19km
  • Route: Camps Bay and back

13 Tokai – Sandvlei – Kalk Bay:
  • Location: Parking lot at Fruit & Veg City, Tokai
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.062775,18.458979 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 20km
  • Route: To Kalk Bay via Sandvlei and Muizenberg, then back via Boys drive or the Main road.

14 Silvermine 26/30km loop:
  • Location: Westlake business park, outside SA National Parks offices on Westlake drive (50m from the traffic lights at the intersection with Steenberg road.)
  • Water: Taps and streams en-route
  • GPS: -34.080376,18.439774 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 26 or 30km
  • Route: Boyes drive, Kalk Bay, (optionally Blackhill,) Sun Valley, Oukaapse Weg. The short option cuts out Blackhill and goes directly from Fish Hoek to Sun Valley.

 

15 Lion’s Circuit – Mouille point – Fresnaye – Company Gardens – Fan Walk:
  • Location: At the Light House, Beach Road Mouille Point
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -33.901704,18.399621 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 18km
  • Route: A loop around Lion’s Head taking in some nice views and lots of variety. Contains some sections on jeep track.

16 Constantia route from VOB:

  • Location: Meet outside the VOB clubhouse.
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.019532,18.447814 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 22km
  • Route: A loop through Upper Wynberg, past Monterey, through upper Constantia, and back to the clubhouse via Groot Constantia and Klein Constantia.

17 Chairmans Run:
  • Location: Meet at the VOB clubhouse in Constantia
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.019532,18.447814 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 22km
  • Route: From Signal Hill, along Tafelberg road, the contour path, left down to Rhodes Memorial, Union Avenue, Paradise Motors, Tenant Road, Wolfe Street Wynberg Hill, to the Club House.

18 Apostles – Gardens:
  • Location: Camps Bay tidal pool/police station
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -33.955286,18.376549 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 19km
  • Route: From Camps Bay, we run along the main road into Sea Point. Near to the swimming pools, we run up to Ocean View Drive and follow it to Buitengragt and then on to Camp Street in Gardens. Once in Gardens, we proceed through Higgovale to Kloof Nek, and then down through Camps Bay to the start.

19 Hout Bay:
  • Location: The end of Harbour Road.
  • Water: Taps en-route
  • GPS: -34.055077,18.347865 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 21km
  • Route: From “Fish on the Rocks” right at the end of Harbour Road, we run up towards “Suikerbossie”, and from there through Ruyterplaats Estate to World of Birds and then down Valley road. Once back on Victoria road, we go to Hout Bay main road and follow it about halfway up the hill to Chapmans Peak. The turning point is a waterfall where we stop for water. We then take the shortest route back to the start.

20 Noordhoek – Ou Kaapse Weg – Zoo:
  • Location: Noordhoek Farm Village.
  • Water: Seconding required
  • GPS: -34.080376,18.439774 OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 29km
  • Route: From Noordhoek Farm Village, over Ou Kaapse Weg, along Spaanschemat, up Ladies Mile, Parish, Southern Cross, Rhodes Drive, Rhodes Avenue and ending at the gate to Rhodes Memorial just before UCT.
  • Important Note: This is not an out-and-back route. We will initially meet at the finish, and then share lifts to the start in a few cars as possible. i.e. Don’t just go to the start – you might not get a lift back to your car!

21 Fish Hoek – Glencairn:
  • Location: Fish Hoek beach corner.
  • Water: Taps en route
  • GPS: -34.140706, 18.431885  OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 20km
  • Route: From the parking lot near to the rocks at the end of Fish Hoek beach, we run along the main road towards Sun Valley and Kommetjie, bearing left. At the 4-way intersection with the Glencairn Expressway, we turn left and head over to Glencairn. From Main road Glencairn, we turn right into the Glencairn valley, and follow the road in a circular loop up to Da Gama park and down through Dido Valley to Main road where we turn left and return to Fish Hoek beach via the catwalk, ending the run with an optional swim and ice cream.

22 Fish Hoek – Muizenberg:
  • Location: Fish Hoek beach corner.
  • Water: Taps en route
  • GPS: -34.140706, 18.431885  OpenStreetMap
  • Distance: 20km
  • Route: From the parking lot near to the rocks at the end of Fish Hoek beach, we run towards Muizenberg (on the beach if the tide is low and the sand firm). We follow Main road to St James where we proceed along the cat-walk. Once in Muizenberg, we run along the canal and Sand Vlei, crossing the railway line at the Lakeside station bridge. We then continue along Main road, returning via Boyes drive, ending the run with an optional swim and ice cream.

 

Additional Information

You don’t need to be a VOB club member to join us.

No iPods or headphones, please.

You don’t have to bring cooldrinks.

On average we will run at 5:45-6:00 minutes per km, but both slower and faster runners are accommodated.

We will generally aim to run 20km or more

LSD stands for Long, Slow, Distance

To use the GPS info, copy & paste it into the Google Maps search bar, and then click ‘Search Maps’

We will do our best to have a run planned for every Sunday

We may organize runs for other days in the week.

Check this blog the night before in case we have to switch routes (if, for example, we can’t organize seconding)

Contact Thomas at Andrews dot org dot za for suggestions…

Get notified by email by joining the mailing list (ignore the warning about the site having an untrusted certificate)

About The Author